Travel

Wanderlust in Krakow – A lovely gem in Poland

You know the feeling when a city is just so close to you, you don’t even think about going there. After hearing many great feedback about Krakow, I finally decided to go there – plus the bus tickets were really cheap!

I totally fell in love with the city – like crazy! Krakow is simply the BEST DECISION if you ever feel like ‘let’s get out of here’ at home. It’s not a big city at all, 2 days is perfectly enough to see everything, but I could’ve stayed for two more weeks just to try out all the restaurants that catched my eyes.

fullsizerender-10

Lux Express offers tickets on a very decent price! Plus I must say, the buses are rather comfy – although I can sleep on any moving vehicles anyway. We arrived in the early morning and decided to check out the sights before everything would be full of tourists.

fullsizerender-2

fullsizerender-3

The Wawel Royal Castle is beautiful with all its colours and there are flowers everywhere. We even went inside the Wawel Cathedral where I didn’t take photos – good girl!

Apart from breakfast places, I also like to discover nice cafes. Luckily we got a recommendation from locals. At first sight Alchemia can be a bit creepy – well, it freaked me out. But it’s seriously the place to be in Krakow! God knows why, I felt like I can hide from the world in there and they have an amazing variety of teas and coffees. Surprisingly I asked for a cappuccino and hummus. Yes, I eat hummus in almost every place I go to!

For the main meal we went to Zalewajka. Zalewajka is one of the cool looking restaurants in Krakow, with kind waitresses and a traditional Polish menu – a real traditional one.  Chose to eat pierogi and how well we decided! Look at these Polish dumplings filled with cottage cheese and bacon on top – yumm.

We were just wandering around the city admiring the sunshine and the fact that the city wasn’t full of tourists. Before going back to the accomodation we had a final look on Rynek Glowny – main square.

fullsizerender-19fullsizerender-9

The next day was only about chilling an walking around..again. There’s a famous Polish sandwich, called zapiekanka which we obviously had to try. Sadly it was a bit of a disappointment for me. Maybe we picked the wrong place or maybe it was my unstoppable fear of pigeons – they were just coming closer and closer.

fullsizerender-1

The last place we went to was one of my favourites in the city. I don’t even know what’s the place called. The area was full of fast food trucks and hammocks. Finally I had the chance to try the famous thai ice-cream. I literally watched all the videos about it on Instagram – rediculous I know. Obviously I asked for a mango-chocolate flavour…and WOW!!! Swinging in my hammock, eating the delish ice-cream. Loved it!

After this delicious goodness, we headed to the bus station as it was time to go home. As you can already guess, I highly recommend to visit Krakow if you’re in need of some battery charging! Best time to go is between March-May or August-October – in my opinion. 🙂

D

One thought on “Wanderlust in Krakow – A lovely gem in Poland

  1. Pingback: The London Post

Leave a Reply

