Recipes

Do you call it Zucchini or Courgette?

I still remember my first time talking about how I made the perfect zucchini meal – in English. And I called it zucchini, because I wasn’t posh enough to know any other words for it..

– What did you cook?
– Zucchini.
– What?
– Oh my … zucchini, you know the big green veggie. I even showed a picture!
– Ahh, COURGETTE!

My face expression was priceless in that moment – who the heck cares about courgette, when I CALL IT ZUCCHINI!

Story of my life…. 😀

Anyways, I made several different things with zucchinis before – don’t laught! – and somehow it always turns out to be amazing. Here’s one of my favourite ways – plus it’s so easy and simple!

Check out the recipe on my YouTube channel in Hungarian as well!

fullsizerender_4

Stuffed ZUCCHINI

Ingredients

for 2 people

2 zucchini – courgette 
1 cup ham & sausage – mine was made by my grandpa
red and white pepper
tomato
1 cup sweetcorn
1/2 cup couscous
1 cup tomato sauce
2 tbsp flaxseeds
2 tsp curcuma
salt, pepper
half lemon
emmental/cheddar cheese

Method

Preheat oven for 165°C/330°F. Wash zucchini and the other vegetables. Butter the oven pan with coconut oil.

Cut the zucchinis to half and scoop out the inside – but leave a bit on the sides. That will make sure the filling stays inside. Grease it with a bit of coconut oil in the inside and outside.

Put half cup of couscous to a bowl, add a pinch of salt and one cup of hot water. Cover the bowl and let it sink for 10-12 minutes – it’ll make itself ready, so amazing and yummie!

fullsizerender_1

Chop some ham and sausage – I chopped 1 cup altogether, but feel free to add as much as you’d like to. If you’re vegetarian or vegan, you can use one cup of chickpeas instead! 😉

fullsizerender

Put the ham into a pan and pyrite until crunchy, then add the sausage. Add the chopped zucchini – the inside part – and let the excess water evaporate. After a few minutes place the chopped peppers and the sweetcorn to the mix. Season with black pepper, add couscous and wait until it all gets golden.

Make a little circle inside the pan and put the flaxseeds there. You know its good when the seeds start to pop up and dance around each other – at least I call it dancing hehe. Mix everything together and add couscous. Sprinkle one teaspoon of turmeric and give it a good stir.

fullsizerender_2

Add the sliced tomatoes, the tomato sauce and the juice of half a lemon, stir and when the sauce becomes a bit creamy, it’s done. Fill the zucchinis with the mix and sprinkle grated cheese on top.

Bake the courgettes for 15 mins on 165°C/330°F then grill for another 5-10 mins.
I usually prebake the zucchini but this time I totally forgot about it – upsie! Luckily this first baking then grilling trick worked out quite well – it was tastier than ever before! 😀
The zucchini was cooked perfectly and also it was a little crunchy – just how I like it!

fullsizerender-4

Bon appétit!

D

 

2 thoughts on “Do you call it Zucchini or Courgette?

  1. I call them courgette and I had no idea that this was the “posh” name for them! In New Zealand most people seem to say courgette, not sure why.These stuffed ones look delicious and remind me of a similar recipe that my Mum made all the time when I was growing up – very nostalgic!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hehe that’s so cool! I only called it “posh” cause an English person said it in a posh way and I found it funny. 🙂 Wow seems like it’s a traditional one in New Zeland. I’m happy it brought back some memories, it is really delicious and one of my favorites as well.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

